This describes the Government Structure in the Spanish Period. This image was edited by Mhel Jhustine G. Tuguigui.

Government Structure.

Before the Spaniards arrived in the Philippines, the islands were divided in different kingdom and barangay which were independent of each other.
There are the Main Officials in our Government in the Spanish Colonial Period. These are the Officials and their function in the Government:
1. The King of Spain
 - He appointed the colonial officials in different country that they've colonized He also issued the royal decrees.
2. Council of the Indies
 - The council helped the king to rule their country's colonies. They also took charge of the colonial affairs.
3. The Viceroy
 - He is the spy of the Queen and King in their colonies.
4. Spanish Governor- General
 - He represented the King in the Philippines. He handles the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Branches of the Government. He could also appoint and remove officials, except those who are appointed by the king. The Governor-General also have the power to suspend any Royal Decree or Law called "Cumplase".
5. The Royal Audiencia
 - It acts like the Supreme Court these days. They make ordinances and check allof the financial Records.
6. Spanish ArchBishop
 - acts as the temp[orary governor-general in the City.  He also  supervised  charities, local election and schools.
7. The Provincial Alcalde Mayor and the City Alcalde
 - he leads the local government in their City or Province. They also acts as the treasurer.
8. Gobernadorcillo
 -  He is the municipal judge and  governor . They implemented rules of their town. elect assistants and several lieutenants and alguaciles.
9. Cabeza de Barangay
 - He implemented peace and order. He relegated to the role of tax collector and forced labor recruiter.